In which I poop on your party

Okay, so if there’s one thing I hate, it’s people who throw parties for themselves. I hate the parties that they throw, because you can guarantee that they’ll be downers. It’s just the epitome of narcissism.

I say as I write on my personal blog.

I say as I write on my personal blog.

And to be clear, I’m talking big house parties, not take-a-couple-of-friends-bowling-with-you-parties. Because at big house parties, there is literally no other excuse for the beer bottles and toilet paper on your lawn the next morning except you. At least if you organize a party around, say, the Fourth of July, it’s not entirely your fault if your house is trashed.

It's America's.

It’s America’s.

For instance, I have a friend who threw a 20’s themed party for her eighteenth birthday. Needless to say, I didn’t go. Not only did they play pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey while sober, she didn’t even buy ceremonial cigarettes (which are completely legal). Also, if you’re over the age of fifteen (or you know, legally an adult) and your parents are still organizing your birthday parties, you really need to step back and take a look at your life.

I was lucky on my eighteenth birthday. It just happened to coincide with the St. Patrick’s Day Parade in SF, so not only did I have a fun, demoralizing event to piggyback my birthday on, an entire city got trashed instead of my home.

 

"Wait, where's the parade guys?" "Oh, just follow the trail of empty beer bottles and green, sequined panties."

“Wait, where’s the parade, guys?”
“Oh, just follow the trail of empty beer bottles and green sequined panties.”

If you boil it all down, what I really hate is undisguised narcissism. The fact that the party-thrower isn’t even trying to hide just how disgustingly self-centered they are. Now, a surprise party for someone else? I can get behind that.

 

 

I bloglifted this topic from the Daily Prompt. It can be found here, with less negative opinions on the matter.

 

7 thoughts on “In which I poop on your party

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s My Party | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. thenarcissistwrites

    Haha, I love throwing parties for myself, but I don’t expect any stupid shit like singing or gifts. I just like having an excuse to make tons of good food. I guess I expect praise for the good food :P

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s My Party but I will only be there as an Observer | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Got thoughts?

