I’m a world traveler now, well sort of…

I messed it all up, guys. I forgot to get a cheesesteak in Philly. I did not eat cream pie in Boston. I messed it all up. However, I did have pizza in New York, but I had pizza in all three cities so that’s not saying much.

Anyway, I went to the East Coast, and finally in a fashion where I could act like an insufferable tourist (unlike the short weekend with my school choir). My dad and I went to look at colleges. We had a hell of a time, but before I talk about the schools I looked at, I’d like to discuss the weirdest thing I saw while traveling up the Eastern seaboard.

It happened on Amtrak from Philadelphia to Penn Station. We were moving parallel to a freeway, with a marsh of oily water and garbage-strewn cattails in between us (being from immaculate northern California, I was mildly surprised by the masses of trash along the highways). And in that dull, disgusting hellhole, were various floating logs. And on one single log, were twenty or so turtles. Twenty fucking turtles. Twenty. On a single log. They were crawling on top of one another. An end would start to sink from their weight, and they would all crawl to the other side. It was the dumbest thing I’ve ever seen in my life. I’ve been on hikes in pristine parkland and never once seen a live turtle. I figured they were like unicorns. And now I find out that they live in polluted run-off in New Jersey? What the fuck, nature?!

 

Got thoughts?

