Let’s Start a Band

Much like some of my friends want to loose their virginity before they go to college, I want to have a band. And this summer is the time to do it. At this point I don’t care what we play. Hell, I wouldn’t care if I were relegated to the kazoo. I just have to have a band.

Currently, my efforts involve sacrificing my school social life for jamming in the band room. My current music buddy, Ansel, is very good, intimidatingly so. His main instrument is guitar, yet he plays piano, drums, and bass as well. And he can play piano better than I can. I’ve been playing for eleven years and it’s infuriating. However, I have him beat in the number of instruments I can play (five if you include the banjo I bought yesterday). I’ve been trying to get my old friend Joey to come play with us, but he’s a bit of flake and never shows up. Ansel thinks that Joey isn’t real. It’s a strange band dynamic when the one guitarist thinks the other doesn’t exist.

I also need to get my act together and write a catalogue of songs, since I doubt I’ll get any alone time at college and I need to have a repertoire for open mics (you know, I also need to decide what college I’m going to within the next twenty days, but that’s secondary).

Other things I need to complete this summer:

– shave (I haven’t worn shorts since october)

– exercise my bicycle (this is a less embarrassing way of saying “exercise myself”..to loose weight)

– learn to play the banjo I just dropped eighty bucks on

– go to San Francisco often…because it’s such a cool city and it’s so close and I never go there

– swim, in the ocean, because I can literally walk to it

– pet my dog

-pet my horse

– pet my cats

– pet my chickens, or try

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/06/daily-prompt-in-the-summertime/

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Summer Dreams | The Mirror Obscura
  2. The Match (Part 6) Oh, Brother | The Jittery Goat
  3. Summertime Sadness | Life Confusions
  4. Dark Wings and Peacock Hope: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  5. Daily Prompt: In the Summertime | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  6. DP Daily Prompt: In the Summertime | Sabethville
  7. Daily Prompt: In the Summertime | littlegirlstory
  8. DAILY PROMPT: In The Summertime | Melissa Holden
  9. the party stayed up | y
  10. Daily Prompt: In the Summertime « Mama Bear Musings
  11. Summertime Sadness: I hope not « psychologistmimi
  12. “Kinda” Excited to Have a Baby | A Crohnie’s Classroom
  13. Beyonce Songs That Speak to Me [Part 1] | She Writes
  14. Daily Prompt: In the Summertime | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  15. Daily Prompt: In The Summertime- My Future and Past Summertime | Journeyman
  16. Summer | Kate Murray
  17. Stop, Summer Time ! | Knowledge Addiction
  18. In the Summertime – (Daily Prompt) | Roving Bess
  19. Daily Prompt: In the Summertime, HOT Summer and Reading Summer! | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  20. Fascinating Bird | wisskko’s blog
  21. Daily Prompt: In the Summertime | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  22. Summertime Hiking|Remind Your Mind | Remind Your Mind
  23. hot fun in the summertime | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  24. My Fav Season… | FREE BIRD
  25. In the Summertime | Purplesus’ Blog
  26. Daily Prompt:In The Summertime | My Other Blog
  27. Seasons and Lessons of Life and Faith | meanderedwanderings
  28. 7 Reasons Why We Love Summer | Never Stationary
  29. when they told me that | y
  30. Daily Prompt: In the Summertime | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  31. Summertime Truth | Vanessa Elliott
  32. Summertime in Montreal | That Montreal Girl
  33. In a nutshell… | cockatooscreeching
  34. On deck… | Muddy River Muse
  35. When Summer Comes | Triumphant Wings

 

 

8 thoughts on “Let’s Start a Band

  1. Pingback: Summertime Sadness: I hope not « psychologistmimi

  2. Pingback: Summer is around the corner and I am looking forward to… | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  3. Pingback: A matter of degrees | Mindful Digressions

  4. Pingback: Daily prompt: Summer | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: In the Summertime | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Root Beer | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: In the Summertime | My Atheist Blog

  8. Pingback: A Hangover Too Long | Views Splash!

Got thoughts?

