Torturing the Underclassmen (Daily Prompt)

High school physical ed classes destroy a lot of things. For instance: any chance you will ever exercise again, your datability, your faith in the kindness of other human beings, and an assortment of songs. Sort of like relationships! (Actually exactly like relationships now that I look at my list.)

This post could easily devolve into a bitch-fest about my freshman and sophomore year PE classes, but I must steal myself to keep that from happening. This is about the Daily Prompt, and I will not stray from its topic. I’m going to limit my complaints to that of the PE playlist.

For some reason, phys ed teachers seem to think playing loud popular music (of the arms-pumping, you-go-girl type) over gym activities is a great idea. I’m not sure if they think they are apologizing to the students or if they’re simply so brainwashed that they enjoy the department playlist that hasn’t been changed for years. It consists of songs like: “Eye of the Tiger” (Survivor), “Dynamite” (Taio Cruz), “Yeah Yeah Yeah” (Chris Brown).

Nothing like needling pop songs to accentuate the sweat dripping from your hair. Chris Brown triumphantly repeats “Yeah Yeah Yeah” every time you drop a pickle ball, and “Dynamite” plays with some irony while you endure the slowest game of badminton you’ve ever played in your life.

To this day, the playlist hasn’t changed. I walked by the gym during class recently and heard the anthems amidst the anguished screams of mobile freshmen. It brought me back. For a moment, I was one of them, enduring an dastardly combination of exertion, boredom, and simmering anger. I went into the gym restroom (the reason I was there), shaking as I did my business. Upon leaving the stall, I saw two sweaty little freshman girls. The fact that they were interchangeable (both blond and absurdly thin) did not change my empathy for them as it usually would. I wanted to take them in my arms and comfort them.

tumblr_lqo5y05Pox1qzwj84 tumblr_inline_mwwpjmyPwv1qjjzql

Of course I didn’t. I smiled at them with sympathy. They looked back judgmentally, and then I decided the little jerks deserved that playlist.

I am, however, thankful that the PE playlist wasn’t music that I actually like, Motown for instance. Thank god it only ruined shitty middle-school party songs for me.

 

This topic was bloglifted from the Daily Post’s daily prompt: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/prompt-remind-me/

Here’s some more:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 1936 – Bentley Drophead | Crazy Markovich
  2. A beat is missing | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Tana deem, ta nana, na na, na na, tana deem (sparks) | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. The Mirror: Tanka | 365 days of defiance
  5. Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me -Psychologycal Side of Recalling Memories | Journeyman
  6. Craters of the Moon | Exploratorius
  7. Dr Martens! An update! | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  8. Daily Prompt: Past « Vicariously Poetic
  9. The past was once the future | The Ambitious Drifter
  10. The Idyllic Place & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  11. November Rain | Knowledge Addiction
  12. A Barenaked Summer | Musings | WANGSGARD
  13. Music is all around us, all you have to do is listen. | A Voice for Science.
  14. DP Daily Prompt: Always something there to remind Me | Sabethville
  15. (Almost) A Song for Everything | Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | likereadingontrains
  16. That moment | Kate Murray
  17. Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Awl and Scribe
  18. IT TAKES ME BACK. | Dreams to Reality !
  19. Musical Memories – Boy’s of Summer | Unload and Unwind
  20. This is always my go to place when I’m in a mood. Which is often. | thoughtsofrkh
  21. The River of Life. | Whispered Words
  22. Always something there to remind me | Sue’s Trifles
  23. Cretan Folk Music and Ali’s fall! | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  24. Oscar Songs on my Female Mind: I’ve had the time of my life and Let it go « psychologistmimi
  25. I Won’t Give Up | Flowers and Breezes
  26. Don’t Panic – It’s Only Love | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  27. Daily Prompt: Songs and memories | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  28. Still searching…! | juimkul
  29. Memories | A mom’s blog
  30. Always Something There To Remind Me | Trailer Trash Design | U.S.A.
  31. Daily Prompt: High Water Everywhere | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  32. Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | snippets and words
  33. classic blotto | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  34. When People Randomly Break Into Song « Scraps, Drafts and Fragments
  35. We Weren’t Lovers, Just Brave Strangers (B. Seger) | meanderedwanderings
  36. A Dream Chaser, A Love “Echo” | From Hiding to Blogging
  37. Today sparrows | shame
  38. Valentine’s Challenge | Mila’s Misadventures
  39. Daily Prompt: Always Something There To Remind Me « Mama Bear Musings
  40. Back to the Mystic | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
  41. Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | The Paperback Chronicles
  42. Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Of Glass & Paper
  43. Daily Prompt: Always something there to remind me | The River Mom
  44. Musical memories – Cassandra Wilson´s Time After Time | mamangerie
  45. Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Basically Beyond Basic
  46. Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  47. The ‘Super’ 70′s. That kind of music just soothes the soul. | A Wiser Fella Than Myself Once Said…
  48. Daily Prompt: Past | The Wandering Poet
  49. in you (the past lingers in the lyrics) | peacefulblessedstar
  50. Thank God For The Radio | Goodnight Hestia
  51. Playing The Role of Someone In Control | A Sober Head Full Of Confusion
  52. The Surfs of Yesteryear | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  53. The Surfs of Yesteryear | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  54. Kolejny, drugi post | Lepsze Katowice
  55. That song on the radio | THECHOCOLATEYDAYS
  56. Drops of Sorrow | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  57. DP: THAT SONG! | Scorched Ice
  58. “Always something there to remind me” | Relax
12 thoughts on “Torturing the Underclassmen (Daily Prompt)

  1. Pingback: of leaving | Anawnimiss

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Abstract Alliterative Acrostalyptica” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Pingback: Oscar Songs on my Female Mind: I’ve had the time of my life and Let it go « psychologistmimi

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  6. Pingback: Bluer Than Blue | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X

  7. Pingback: Always Something There to Remind Me – The First Lady in Red | Cancer Isn't Pink

  8. Pingback: Daily Post: Karma – A Trailer Tale | Cancer Isn't Pink

  9. Pingback: Disturbed – Deify | Views Splash!

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Got thoughts?

