Daily Prompt: The Dream Where Everything Combined

Had I known it was a dream, I would have questioned why the students in my tutorial class were doing their homework on the floor of the store where I work. However, I did not know it was a dream, and frantically tried to cool the arguments erupting between my peers and coworkers. Other students were angry there were no seats. Coworkers were angry that they were stepping on students.

Some background. At the time of this vivid dream situation, my school was experiencing an unprecedented influx of new students. The administration found that they didn’t have enough rooms and teachers for all the students to be in a tutorial class. The overflow was visible. Study hall classes were held in the cafeteria, and there were more students than seats in some classrooms.

So of course, the logical thing for the school to do was relocate some classes to the town where I live, 45 minutes away. The director of our community play was furious. With students in the community center, we wouldn’t be able to have rehearsal.

Tired of the crowd of teenagers downtown, I decided to walk home (since I could do that now). When I arrived, I noticed something strange in my neighbor’s yard.

“Mom, why is the Leaning Tower of Piza in Jim’s yard?” I asked.

“Oh, now that he’s rich he bought it.”

“That’s great,” I said, accepting his sudden unexplained wealth at face value. Promptly, I experienced a flashback to infomercials for the gadget that made him rich. It involved onion cutting and 90s commercial music. (Note: according to Freud, food in a dream can sometimes signify sexual frustration. The validity of this analysis depends on whether you consider onion a food or a seasoning.)

Since Jim lives in a trailer, he had attached it to the back of the tower. I went over to investigate, and saw that the ocean was not present. I was looking at huge valley of houses. I saw the Pantheon in the distance, so assumed that it was Italy.

“Jim, why is Italy here?” I asked.

“Italy followed the Leaning Tower of Pisa because of the financial crisis,” Jim Bowman replied.

“Oh, that makes sense,” I said, because it did. “But how do we get to the ocean now?”

“Well, it’s on the other side of Italy.”

“But that’s too far, everyone in town is going to hate you for getting rid of the ocean!”

Then I woke up.

Bloglifted from the Daily Post’s Daily Prompt at http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/26/daily-prompt-sweet-dreams/

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Rise of the chickens | 2 times pink
4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Dream Where Everything Combined

  1. Pingback: Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Sweet Dreams – Can almost touch the clouds |

  3. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Alexia Jones

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Got thoughts?

