Daily Prompt: Tainted Love

It is with pride that I relate that I have never been dumped. That said, it’s not actually a surprising fact seeing as I have had only one real relationship (unless you include a camp fling, an ex-classmate who seemed to think we had a thing, and a dude I went on a date with once). Since I have no painful stories of personal heartbreak to relate, I’m going to relay the story of the heart I have broken. Because I’m a sadistic person like that.

I ended my first romance after two months. After I had gotten to know his tongue, I realized he had a boring personality. So I ignored him, because anyone that dull wouldn’t even notice if his girlfriend abruptly disappeared, right? Apparently my reasoning was not sound. He demanded that we meet, and that I explain why I had vanished into thin air. Instead of invoking “it’s not you it’s me”, I decided to be honest.

In my own defense, I sugarcoated a little. I didn’t flat out say “I don’t want to be with you, because you bore me.” I phrased it as “I would rather spend time with other, more interesting people.” My twisted fifteen-year old logic told me that he needed to know about his dullness in order to grow and become a better person. He asked me if this was goodbye, and I responded with a yes. At which point he decided that a goodbye kiss would be a very romantic way to end our relationship and I backed out the door in a panic.

His guilt-inducing texts extended well into the next three months.I had never understood why people in the movies lied in order to break up amicably, but now I did. I felt horrible, and considered taking him back. Perhaps I could make fun of an old person or run over a cat and get him to dump me. 

Just as I was considering getting back together with him in order to cease his incessant text messages, he called…At two in the morning. To call me a terrible person. I agreed whole-heartedly and never heard from him again.

This post was bloglifted from the Daily Prompt on the Daily Post, which can be found here: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/22/daily-prompt-tainted-love/

Here are a bunch of other posts on the same topic.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Naturally abstract | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  2. Tainted Love | Knowledge Addiction
  3. Song of the fallen | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. The Letter That Killed Me | Daily Prompt: Never | likereadingontrains
  5. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love-Psychology behind breaking up | Journeyman
  6. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | The Road Less Travelled By
  7. A Meal With Millie (short fiction) and The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  8. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | alienorajt
  9. Keeping The Music That Counts – Release | My Days In A Song
  10. Tainted love | dandelionsinwind
  11. It Ain’t Pretty | Views Splash!
  12. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  13. One Crazy Mom » Tainted Love
  14. DP Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Sabethville
  15. Stood up at an airport | sixty, single and surviving
  16. DP: Tainted | Scorched Ice
  17. Tearful kisses – Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Chojin Bain – Wondering thoughts of a Dreamer
  18. Tainted Love | Maria For Real
  19. Silent fear.. | Tale of Two Tomatoes
  20. Tainted Love: The Breakups | Living Dead Girl
  21. Dating in a Small City: Falling For the First Time — Again! | Kosher Adobo
  22. #85 – Daily Prompt | shatteringlove
  23. Secrets and lies | A picture is worth 1000 words
  24. Love is in the Air? | Anecdotes | WANGSGARD.COM
  25. Why I Blog | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  26. A six letter nightmare. | Aicela Aitacil
  27. It’s Over. It’s NOT me. It’s you | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  28. this is how I release (you) | 365 days of defiance
  29. The 3 A’s of BROKENNESS: ABUSE, ABANDONMENT, AND ADULTERY | The Christian Gazette
  30. Incarceration | La Gatita Oscura
  31. The Worst Breakup Story
  32. I dreamed you up from flames | Color me in Cyanide and Cherry
  33. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Basically Beyond Basic
  34. RELEASE | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  35. Don’t let them see | anonim0us
  36. How I Got Dumped On Valentines Day! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog
  37. MY LOVE WAS NEVER TAINTED | SERENDIPITY
  38. ThINkINg ………………..
  39. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  40. Tainted Love | the bippity boppity beautiful blog
  41. Dreams within Dreams: Daily Prompt | Finicky Philly
  42. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Lady K’s Lounge
  43. Trapped by Anxiety | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  44. ASKED OR BEEN ASKED. | mnemosynesandlethe
  45. I’m Breaking Up With You Because… | Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
  46. Dear Friend – You’re Dumped | The Wittering Wallflower
  47. A Different Story | Flowers and Breezes
  48. Humour me dear dumpee | soulfoood
  49. Cináed IV | The Eclectic Poet
  50. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love « Mama Bear Musings
  51. Daily Prompt: Being Alone! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  52. Yes, Kevin Spacey IS in your house of cards – somewhere. | Rob’s Surf Report
  53. Solitary | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X
  54. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | To Breathe is to Write
  55. Daily Prompt Tainted Love | My Travels with Depression
  56. Styrofoam Cups | loveletterstoaghost
  57. The Rejection Collection | Don’t Jerk Off To This!
  58. Tainted love | How to be good at everything
  59. Prompt: 2 Bad Relationships I’m Finally Telling People About | melissuhhsmiles
  60. In which I do a terrible thing to a nice person | Infinitefreetime
  61. You Hung Up on Me | Lewis Cave
  62. 268. …And I Never Skipped a Beat | Barely Right of Center
  63. Daily Prompt – Tainted love – Field of clouds |
  64. “Hell is empty and all the devils are here” | by LRose
  65. She Couldn’t Handle My Illness so I was Kicked to the Curb | Schizo Incognito
  66. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Pride in Madness
  67. Tainted Love and Then Swept Away by a New Love | Not The Sword But The Pen
  68. Tainted Love: Daily Post | Destino
  69. Not working out… | U Be Cute – Follow the child inside of you…
  70. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Too dumb to be dumped, twice | Sayantan Jana dot com
  71. Daily Prompt: tainted love | Kawanee’s Korner
  72. Daily Prompt Tainted Love (FICTIONAL) | Kawanee’s Korner
  73. Purple Petals | Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Focal Breeze
 
20 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Tainted Love

      1. idiotwriter

        OK – got it now…in which case – may aI complement you on a most awesome write :D First wanted to make sure you were the author hey ;)
        (stranger things have happened right!)
        Thanks for a cool and entertaining read – and a new quirky name for prompts :D

      2. thinkingdiagonally Post author

        Thanks! I’m glad you like the name for prompts. I’m trying to make it a thing, sort of like Gretchen Foster tries to make “fetch” a thing in Mean Girls… except I’m going to be sucessful with “bloglifting”. (It’s never going to happen, is it?)

      3. idiotwriter

        LOL! Now if you were actually using the term to describe literally using someone elses writing – than it very well could – people love to trend ‘bad’ words – not so much in the middle terms ;)
        Still a good article :D

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Natasha's Memory Garden

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  3. Pingback: In which I do a terrible thing to a nice person | Infinitefreetime

  4. Pingback: In which I have soup: a blog post | Infinitefreetime

  5. Pingback: Fear of loss | alienorajt

  6. Pingback: Humour me dear dumpee | soulfoood

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: Kinda Sorta Not Really | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Got thoughts?

